Brownie Awards

Brownie Awards 2021

Dedicated to the rehabilitation and revitalization of sites that were once contaminated, under-utilized, and undeveloped, the Brownie Awards provide annual recognition and celebration of brownfield projects in Canada. These renewed residential and commercial projects contribute to the growth and resilient recovery of healthy cities and communities across the country.

This year, the Brownie Awards committee, composed of a range of senior-level industry stakeholders, has elected to introduce the new award category of REFOCUS in order to highlight the efforts of brownfield projects or programs that demonstrate alignment with broader social initiatives and mandates. For example, brownfield leaders or projects that demonstrate significant improvement towards greenhouse gas reduction, climate resiliency, affordable housing, healthy communities, and diversity and inclusion. This award category utilizes alternative lenses to see remediation and redevelopment from different perspectives other than economic and environmental ones.

Brownie Award-winning project in 2020: Toronto Region and Conservation Authority’s The Meadoway, a transformational project developing underutilized space into one of the largest urban greenspaces in Canada.

Brownie Award categories for 2021:

REPROGRAM: Legislation, Policy and Program Initiatives
REMEDIATE: Sustainable Remediation and Technological Innovation
REINVEST: Financing, Risk Management and Partnerships
REBUILD: Redevelopment at the Local, Site Scale
RENEW: Development at the Community Scale
REACH OUT: Communications, Marketing and Public Engagement
REFOCUS: Vision of Alternative Benefits to Brownfield Remediation

Further communications will provide information on nomination applications, deadlines, judging panelists, and more. The award-winning brownfield redevelopment projects, people, and policies will be announced during the Brownie Awards gala on November 23, 2021.

Nominations Open!

To access the nomination forms for projects and programs or Brownfielder of the Year, please click here.

For a link to the Canadian Brownfields Network Brownie Awards page, click here.

Brownie Award Gala tickets are now available for purchase:
Tickets are $275 + HST or corporate tables of 8 are available for $2,000 + HST.


Brownie Awards 2020

Close to 200 industry professionals joined Actual Media and the Canadian Brownfields Network for the 2020 Brownie Awards. The “Brownies” were presented in a digital format for the first time, a result of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.

The event was co-hosted this year by Actual Media’s Todd Latham and Andrew Macklin. The event included introductory remarks from CBN chair Christopher De Sousa of Ryerson University, a live keynote panel discussion on breaking the stigma around brownfields, and live presentations of 10 awards. Each of the 10 awards featured a live presentation from both the sponsor and the award winner. In total, there were 26 different occasions where people were brought to the screen to appear live.

Behind the scenes at the 2020 Brownie Awards, as Actual Media CEO Todd Latham helps present the award for Brownfielder of the Year.

The Brownie Awards recognize the builders, innovators and visionaries who are dedicated to the rehabilitation of brownfield sites that were once contaminated, under-utilized and undeveloped into productive residential and commercial projects that contribute to the growth of healthy communities across Canada.

The 2020 Brownie Awards was a show like no other, showcasing the best and brightest in brownfield remediation and rehabilitation through a virtual format.

For information on the Brownie Award winners, visit:

Champions in Brownfield Redevelopment Celebrated at 2020 Brownie Awards

For information on the Brownie Award finalists, visit:

Finalists for National Brownfield Rehabilitation Awards Announced

For further details on the 2020 Brownie Awards, visit: