The Task Force for a Resilient Recovery, a new and independent group of finance, policy and sustainability leaders is advocating the support of jobs, infrastructure and growth that will keep Canada competitive in the clean economy of the 21st century.

Task Force members will spend the next eight weeks developing actionable recommendations on how governments can help get Canadians back to work while also building a low-carbon and resilient economy. The 14 members are backed by eight expert advisors, including reputed business and finance expert Jeremy Oppenheim, as well as research organizations, Smart Prosperity Institute and the International Institute for Sustainable Development.

The Task Force will look at and assess a variety of potential recovery investments. The Resilient Recovery Framework, which was submitted to the Task Force by Smart Prosperity Institute on May 19, 2020, is a resource that the Task Force could use in these assessments. It proposes measuring recovery investments against nine criteria, including whether they generate timely economic activity and jobs, whether the economic activity is targeted in areas that need it, and whether they support Canada’s 2030 and 2050 climate goals.

“Canada’s investments to recover from COVID-19 will either lock us into a vulnerable future or put us on a resilient path towards net-zero emissions, good jobs and a strong economy,” Task Force members said in a statement. “This is an important opportunity for Canadians everywhere.”

The work of the Task Force will conclude in July with the release of a final report.

Members of the Task Force for a Resilient Recovery include:

Barbara Zvan
Former Chief Risk & Strategy Officer, Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan

See also  Earth Day 2021 Activities Available Virtually

Bruce Lourie
President, Ivey Foundation

Don Forgeron
President & CEO, Insurance Board of Canada

Elizabeth Beale
Former President and CEO, Atlantic Provinces Economic Council

Gerald Butts
Senior Advisor, Eurasia Group

Helen Mountford
Vice President, Climate & Economics, World Resources Institute

James Meadowcroft
Professor, School of Public Policy and Administration and Department of Political Science, Carleton University

JP Gladu
Former President and CEO, Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business

Merran Smith
Executive Director, Clean Energy Canada

Michael Horgan
Senior Advisor, Bennett Jones

Mitchell Davidson
Executive Director, Strategy Corp Institute of Public Policy and Economy

Mira Oreck
Executive Director, The Houssain Foundation

Richard Florizone
President and CEO, International Institute for Sustainable Development

Stewart Elgie
Founder and Chair, Smart Prosperity Institute

For further information on the task force, click here.

To read the Resilient Recovery Framework, click here

Featured image of Jerry Oppenheim, expert advisor of the Resilient Recovery Task Force.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here