Dedicated to the rehabilitation and revitalization of sites that were once contaminated, under-utilized, and undeveloped, the Brownie Awards provide annual recognition and celebration of brownfield projects. These renewed residential and commercial projects contribute to the growth and resilient recovery of healthy cities and communities across the country.

The 23rd Annual Brownie Awards will be presented by Environment Journal’s parent company, Actual Media Inc., in conjunction with the Canadian Brownfields Network (CBN).

“The redevelopment of brownfields provides important economic and environmental opportunities to create cleaner, safer, and more socially vibrant communities,” said Christopher De Sousa, chair of the Brownie Awards jury and past president of the board of directors of the CBN.

Brownie Awards Categories for 2022

REPROGRAM: Legislation, Policy and Program Initiatives
REMEDIATE: Sustainable Remediation and Technological Innovation
REINVEST: Financing, Risk Management and Partnerships
REBUILD: Redevelopment at the Local, Site Scale
RENEW: Development at the Community Scale
REACH OUT: Communications, Marketing and Public Engagement
REFOCUS: Vision of Alternative Benefits to Brownfield Remediation


Winners montage courtesy of sponsors Environmental Risk Information Services (ERIS).

The winners of the 2021 Brownie Awards were highlighted in this feature article:

Mark your calendar

The nomination deadline is September 14, 2022. The award-winning brownfield redevelopment projects, people, and policies will be announced during the Brownie Awards gala on November 14, 2022.

For further information about the Brownie Awards, visit:

See also  Brownie Awards 2022: Celebrating the best in Canadian brownfields


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here