Seven industry experts were appointed to the Alberta Energy Regulator (AER) board of directors to help stabilize its governance and leadership on economic and environmental issues.

These appointments, effective April 15, 2020, are expected to strengthen the regulator’s governance structure through their diverse skill sets and wide-ranging energy experience. The board will focus on increasing stability within the AER, helping the energy industry operate during the COVID-19 pandemic and current challenging economic conditions.

“During our review of the AER, we heard – loudly and clearly – that our government should appoint a new board of directors,” said Minister of Environment and Parks Jason Nixon. “We have followed through, and, in the near future, we will announce other initiatives we’re taking to improve the AER’s mandate, governance and system operations. In the meantime, these appointees will help ensure Alberta’s regulatory system is stable and efficient.”

As the single regulator for energy development in Alberta, the AER ensures the safe, efficient, orderly, and environmentally responsible development of oil, oil sands, natural gas and coal resources over their entire life cycle.

The following individuals have been appointed for five-year terms, effective April 15:

  • David Goldie, the chair of the board, is a professional geologist and holds a master’s of business administration from the University of Calgary. He has more than 30 years of experience in the oil and gas industry, serving in senior executive level positions with a number of major North American energy companies. He is currently a member of the AER’s interim board of directors.
  • Georgette Habib holds a master’s degree in economics and is a former full-time board member of the National Energy Board, including serving as chair of the Regulatory Policy Development Committee. She has more than 30 years of experience in both provincial and federal energy regulation. She is currently a member of the AER’s interim board of directors.
  • Jude Daniels has worked in the energy sector since 1998 as both legal counsel and in Aboriginal relations. Her experience includes working for several large oil and gas companies, as well as leading the first cross-ministry team tasked to develop the original First Nations Consultation Policy for the Government of Alberta.
  • Gary Leach is a former senior executive with more than 25 years of experience and served as president of the Explorers and Producers Association of Canada. A lawyer by trade, he has a deep understanding of regulatory issues affecting the energy industry across Western Canada.
  • Tracey McCrimmon is the executive director of Sundre Petroleum Operators Group. She has extensive experience working in surface land management in more than 40 rural municipality districts and over 20 urban municipalities.
  • Corrina Bryson is a corporate director and independent consultant with more than 25 years of experience in the energy industry. She currently serves on the Canada-Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Board, Emissions Reduction Alberta, and the Alberta Petroleum Marketing Commission.
  • Beverly Yee is deputy minister of Environment and Parks, appointed to the role in September 2018 after serving as deputy minister of Intergovernmental Relations and Agriculture and Forestry. She has also held five assistant deputy roles since joining the Government of Alberta in 1994. She is currently serving as chair of the AER’s interim board of directors.
See also  Billion-dollar Indigenous energy partnership launched in Alberta

For further information on the Alberta Energy Regulator, click here.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here